You can mark a task as complete in two ways. Both ways will move the task to the 'completed' list
Clicking the checkbox on the left side of a task will mark a task as complete and move it to the 'completed' task list.
The process is the same from the task details page. Simply click the checkbox on the left side. You can undo this action by clicking the checkbox again.